50 Questions

I found these questions on another site and thought I’d try and answer them

These questions have no right or wrong answers. Because sometimes asking the right questions is the answer.

How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?

I think I would be about 25. Despite depression and life’s little issues I tend to be young hearted and I think it reflects on how I interact with people.

Which is worse, failing or never trying?

I think failing would be worse. You will never know if you actually may have succeeded if you don’t give it a shot

If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?

I’ve no idea and I have been guilty of this as much as anyone. I think we, as humans, feel the need to fit in and if this means going with the crowd rather than standing out and doing our own thing then so be it. My aim going forward is to do the things I like more and the things I don’t, less. It will take time to fully make the switch but I will get there.

When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?

Up to this present moment in time yes my words speak louder than my actions but again I aim to change this and start doing more

What is the one thing you’d most like to change about the world?

World peace?? An end to poverty and universal suffering?? Let’s all love each other? There are so many choices.

If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich?

My crafting. It’s coming along nicely and I hope to one day do it as a full time job. I don’t do it to make a million pounds rather I love the joy I can bring with a handmade gift

Are you doing what you believe in, or are you settling for what you are doing?

Same as mentioned several times above. I’ve been settling for a long time. It will not happen overnight but the plan is to do what I believe in and work for myself.

If the average human life span was 40 years, how would you live your life differently?

As I’ve just hit 40 would this mean I shouldn’t now be here?? I aim to start living life differently and live my life for me. Too many of the pre-40 years have been spent in sadness and frustration. This needs to change

To what degree have you actually controlled the course your life has taken?

The questions all have the same answer! I haven’t but I aim to take more control.

Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things?

I would rather do the right thing.

You’re having lunch with three people you respect and admire.  They all start criticizing a close friend of yours, not knowing she is your friend.  The criticism is distasteful and unjustified.  What do you do?

I would speak up. My friends are very important to me, some more than my actual family. I would not stand for them to have any kind of attack.

If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be?

Do what makes you happy. You only get one shot at life so make the most of it

Would you break the law to save a loved one?

I think I’d have to say yes. I doubt if I could commit a murder but who knows what you are capable of under duress

Have you ever seen insanity where you later saw creativity?

Yes every time I see some of the modern art that is about 🙂 but insanity to me is someone else’s perfect creation so who cares really as long as it’s done with love

What’s something you know you do differently than most people?

I don’t know. I have a great level of empathy that I think may be stronger than most people’s but it’s just an opinion and others may disagree. Maybe I should ask others what they think I do differently

How come the things that make you happy don’t make everyone happy?

Because no two people are the same. As long as what makes you happy doesn’t hurt other people then c’est la vie

What one thing have you not done that you really want to do? What’s holding you back?

Work for myself. I would love to work from home and make a living selling things I love to make. I’m not always sure if I have the talent to do this so I think fear is why I haven’t done it yet. But I’m slowly getting over that fear

Are you holding onto something you need to let go of?

Probably. Up until last year I had an issue with memories. Due to depression I’d blocked out so many and last year my teenage memories came flooding back after I’d learned to let go of one or two issues. I thought I’d let go of everything but I still struggle with my childhood ones. I think some work is in order to see what’s left to let go.

If you had to move to a state or country besides the one you currently live in, where would you move and why?

Well as England has had 3 months of snow and rain I would want to live somewhere warm! The most perfect place other than God’s own county of Yorkshire that I have ever seen is Huntington Beach in South California. I spent a glorious day there once doing absolutely nothing except sitting on the beach watching the surfers. I also have a fondness for Barcelona too.

Do you push the elevator button more than once?  Do you really believe it makes the elevator faster?

Of course! There’s something childishly gleeful in pushing the button several times.

Would you rather be a worried genius or a joyful simpleton?

After years of sadness I could live with being a simpleton is I was happy

Why are you, you?

I am me by nature rather than nurture. I take after a man (my natural father) I barely know.  I am now me because this is how I want to be

Have you been the kind of friend you want as a friend?

Not always but I try to be the best friend I can be nowadays

Which is worse, when a good friend moves away, or losing touch with a good friend who lives right near you?

When a good friend moves away it makes those meet ups all the more special because of the time and effort that goes into it. I meet my high school best friend maybe once a year and it’s always a joy. Losing a friend that is close by is harder because there is usually a sad reason behind it.

What are you most grateful for?

My health, happiness, my son and my mother

Would you rather lose all of your old memories, or never be able to make new ones?

I’ve touched on this above and have a further blog dedicated to memories that I will post soon. Losing your memories is a frightful thing.  It’s very hard when a potential memory is just there out of reach yet you cannot access it. I carry notebooks everywhere to try and make sure my current adventures are recorded

Is it possible to know the truth without challenging it first?

Truth is subjective dependent on people’s opinions sometimes. I know myself and an ex-friend will both tell you about the falling out and both are right and are telling the truth but judgement makes the stories different.

Has your greatest fear ever come true?

My greatest fear is to be alone. I was worried for a while but I believe I have the right people around me for that not to happen.

Do you remember that time 5 years ago when you were extremely upset?  Does it really matter now?

No it doesn’t. Being upset about things ruined my life for a long time. Now I know how to let it go and never try and go to sleep on a bad feeling

What is your happiest childhood memory?  What makes it so special?

See above about memories. I can barely remember any of them. My mum will show me photo’s of me laughing and playing to prove I was happy but I can’t pull the memories from the pictures. I hope to one day

At what time in your recent past have you felt most passionate and alive?

London, Oct 2012 – I went to visit the Royal Observatory. Despite the normal chilly weather for a few brief hours the sun came out, the clouds went away. I feel most alive on clear blue sky days and this was one of them. And all I did was sit and enjoy the views and let the day float past

If not now, then when?

I have learnt from past mistakes that it should always be now. When may never arrive

If you haven’t achieved it yet, what do you have to lose?

Absolutely nothing. That’s why I am playing the Yes game. If I don’t try how will I know whether I have achieved or not???

Have you ever been with someone, said nothing, and walked away feeling like you just had the best conversation ever?

Yes but not for a long time. It’s on my list of things to do to find that again

Why do religions that support love cause so many wars?

Religions like government have their own agenda. Everyone has the right to their own opinion and religion is a touchy subject. For me I would rather believe in Mother Nature

Is it possible to know, without a doubt, what is good and what is evil?

Nope because our actions may be bad to others but done for the greater good.

If you just won a million dollars, would you quit your job?

Yes but I would use the money to try and set up my own business (after the obligatory trip around the world of course!)

Would you rather have less work to do, or more work you actually enjoy doing?

More work I enjoy doing. That’s why I would like to be able to work for myself.

Do you feel like you’ve lived this day a hundred times before?

So many times. Hopefully for not much longer.

When was the last time you marched into the dark with only the soft glow of an idea you strongly believed in?

I am doing it now, building up my stock to go marching bravely into self employment and the possibility of being responsible for my salary and pensions and all the grown up stuff my employer currently pays for.

If you knew that everyone you know was going to die tomorrow, who would you visit today?

Well as my son lives with me, I would grab him and go see my mum

Would you be willing to reduce your life expectancy by 10 years to become extremely attractive or famous?

NO. I am happy with the way I look and have never had the desire to be famous.

What is the difference between being alive and truly living?

Truly living is the enjoyment of everything you do. Being alive is just existing and achieving nothing

When is it time to stop calculating risk and rewards, and just go ahead and do what you know is right?

Right now. I’ll keep you posted 🙂

If we learn from our mistakes, why are we always so afraid to make a mistake?

Fear!

What would you do differently if you knew nobody would judge you?

I’ve spent ages on this question and can’t think of anything. I’m sure when I’ve posted this list I’ll think of 5 things J but for now I’m stuck.

When was the last time you noticed the sound of your own breathing?

I never notice it unless I’ve just run for a bus!

What do you love?  Have any of your recent actions openly expressed this love?

I love life and am trying to prove it by doing all the things that make me happy

In 5 years from now, will you remember what you did yesterday?  What about the day before that?  Or the day before that?

If I ever fix my appalling memory then possibly. I’d like to think my actions will be memorable

Decisions are being made right now.  The question is:  Are you making them for yourself, or are you letting others make them for you?

It’s a mixture of both. I have a plan of action but for at least a year I need to rely on the decisions of my employer from a financial point of view. From a personal point of view I make more and more for myself every day

 A lot of my answers ended up being every similar but it’s nice to see in writing your plans and gives you something to work towards

Leave a Reply

