Enjoy the Silence

09.01.14 – I first posted this back in July but as we are possibly going to read The Power of Now by Ekhart Tolle I thought I’d repost. We all need a bit of stillness in our lives now and again.

I was going to start this by talking about last nights visit to my first Stillness Group but I had an epiphany on the way to work that I want to share. I was in that great centre for spirituality – Greggs the bakers – buying my morning cup of tea when I caught a glimpse of me in a mirror and thought “I quite like you”. Now I have spent years looking at myself and comparing myself to others to the extent that I have become possibly my worst critic and a negative one at that. But lately I have been experimenting with clothes and found myself a lot more comfortable in my own skin. I used to hide behind black and for a long time have been hiding in trousers and baggy tops. I’m not wearing anything radical today, just a long skirt and top but I feel good and I feel ok with me. I’ve also cut a lot of my hair off going from a mid length bob to a style cut very short at the back and longer at the front. It suits me. I’m still the same person inside but I like her these days

I think last night’s ties in with this a little bit. I attended my first Ekhart Tolle Stillness group. The session is made up of 10 minutes stillness, followed by a DVD of one of Ekhart’s talks and then for those that can stay it ends with a 30 minute stillness session. I wasn’t sure what to expect but I managed to be still for the reiki session so I’m hopeful I can get through this.

Now I’ve mentioned before I most likely have undiagnosed ADHD. I can’t sit still. I struggle to stay focussed on anything for very long. I’m the girl who makes a lot of tea at work to allow me to be on the move. I was the girl who always finished her work early at school then spent the rest of my time distracting everyone else. I am not very good at watching TV, So I’m unsure if I can do this at all but I’m determined to have a go. It actually feels like meditation, I manage to clear my head of all thoughts except the thought that I’m not thinking. If that makes sense! You can hear everything around you – the children playing outside the centre, the tapping of the blinds on the window, the footsteps of a guy who came in a little late and the constant chomping of a guy eating boiled sweets. That became almost deafening in the silence. It’s a very similar feeling to when I tried the Reiki, the draining of all thought, the slowness of breathing, the feeling of peace. I have for many years tried to follow the teachings of Taoism but tended to fail on the meditation side of things. I am starting to feel now that maybe I just needed a little bit of guidance and I am going to try again on my own in my own house. Again it feels like a breakthrough.

I wanted to discuss the Ekhart Tolle talk as I took from it quite a few things but this blog would go on forever. I think I’m going to buy his book “The Power of Now” which the talk was based on to consolidate my learning and then come back to this with a more in depth write up.

But I’m learning to love the outer layer of me and learning to work with the inner me and that can never be a bad thing

My other blogs:

For the love of books – http://kirk72.wordpress.com/

Family Tree – http://kzwhite.wordpress.com/

Adventures in Travel – http://travelpalooza.wordpress.com/

5 thoughts on “Enjoy the Silence

  1. Thank you for the excellent post! I’d never heard of these Stillness Groups before, but your post inspired me to look it up, and I found one going on tomorrow actually in my home city of Vancouver. I’m going to be attending, so thank you! Also! If you’re interested in meditation, I highly recommend the book Wherever you go, There you are” by Jon Kabat-Zinn. This book really helped me understand the process of meditation, and cleared up a lot of questions I had. Love the blog. I will be following along for sure.

    • Thank you for your lovely comments. I only heard of them myself a couple of weeks ago. I’m so glad you have been able to find one close to yourself. I’ve made a note of the Kabat-Zinn book and will have a look for a copy.

Leave a Reply

