Bluebells at Middleton Park – Memories

According to Metcheck website today’s Bank Holiday is meant to be the only day this week with sunshine and no rain so I made sure to treat myself with an afternoon out at Middleton Park. I was originally going to follow one of the heritage trails that they have but got sidetracked by trees and bluebells.

I have many missing memories from my childhood thanks to the years of depression but picking flowers in the woods is one I do remember and cherish. Me and my dad would go to Middleton Park and pick the bluebells. This was over 30 years ago so I don’t think it was illegal then and it was only maybe once or twice a year so hopefully we weren’t responsible for their scarcity now. Wandering around the woods allowed me to follow the words of Ekhart Tolle and Adyashanti (Falling Into Grace – book) by being in the now, not thinking about anything except where I was and the trees and flowers and just stop for a while to take in the beauty of nature.

It’s so easy to get caught up in daily stresses and for me last week was a bad week at work with helping my colleagues work their way through two deaths that sometimes I think we forget to just stop and smell the flowers. The park was filled with thousands of bluebells and just one of the most beautiful landscapes I have ever had the pleasure of witnessing. Who needs to travel miles when you have beauty and relaxation on your doorstep

 

Image ImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

