Sweet dreams are made of this

I’ve been having a few dreams lately. Normally I never remember what I dream but every so often when I’ve been having a thoughtful time in my life I’ll remember. Mostly because when it happens the dreams are usually quite bonkers full of strange imagery. The ones over the last two weeks have all involved small rodent animals – I’ve had mice running around my childhood home (a recurring one is that oen), then we had possibly the craziest one yet; a psychotic hedgehog ma pet budgie (which I don’t have in real life) and finally one involving guinea pigs.

As there seemed to be an animal theme I decided to look up the meanings and see if it can fit into anything that is going on in life. To see mice in a dream suggest dwelling too much on trivial things and insignificant matters. Well I am a depressive, gemini drama queen – dwelling on the trivial is what I do 🙂  For the first time in ages though I can’t think of anything other than the usual (mpney, jobs etc) that I’ve given much negative thought to.

Hedgehogs- To see a hedgehog in your dream suggests that you are being overly sensitive. You are taking everything too personally. Alternatively, it refers to losing your soul.  So as I’m behaving and not being senstitve to trivial matters then I must be worried about losing my soul. Which is probably true. Told you I was a drama queen! I love my job but hate the company I work for (the government!) and the more time I spend working with the homeless people & those with other barriers the angrier I seem to become with the way people are treated. My mum suggested I become some kind of campaigner but there is no way to do that and still keep my job. Then there is the decision to make as to whether I do want to stay anyway. My original plan was to pass my Open Uni degree and look at life coaching. The question i now have is can I do that now and bring forward my plans by three years. It’s a tough decision. I know the answer but have to look at the realistic aspects of it all.

And lastly the guinea pigs – To see a guinea pig in your dream represents your need to be more responsible and attentive. Alternatively, it suggests that through experimentation and taking risks, you learn how and how not to do something.  You learn from your mistakes.  Okay so experimenting & taking risks. That’s been happening. I’ve accidentally on purpose committed myself to several short story competitions by talking to the competition runners on Twitter. It’s spurred me on to actually have a go. I answered an advert for book reviewers and now have several books to read & write about. I’ve shared this blog with my new co-students on my next course. I try and be a bit braver every day. I suppose the idea of leaving an employer and setting up on your own is one of the biggest risks you can take.

So watch this space, whatever I decide I’ll share and maybe people will also share their advice on self employment and taking risks

Leave a Reply

