Learning how to write

I’m just about to embark on my 4th (and possibly final if I decide to change paths next year) Open University module; this one will be creative writing. I’ve blogged before and it seems to go down well and I’ve had a go at creating short stories and poems but so far I’ve only shared those pieces with a handful of people. I feel like I’ve got ideas for a few longer novels or novellas but I’m looking forward to building up to writing those with this course.

Reading through the first chapter of the course book it asks people to get into the habit of writing, to try and find some time, perhaps half an hour, each day to write no matter what it is. I did do this for a while but have fallen out of the habit during my ‘Summer of Reading’. It also mentions to experiment with ways which will help get those creative juices flowing. For me I like noise. I like to have music on in the background. The previous three years I spent many pleasant Saturday mornings studying or writing essays whilst my sons radio played in the background. I also found that despite being a rock chick that some of the best studying and writing I have done is to classical and opera. After a recent trip away I’ve also found that guitar music can be quite relaxing helping to prepare the quiet mindset for writing. My goal tomorrow is to go to the local second hand stores to look for some new CDs to play in preparation

The where to write is less easy to pin point. I find I can write anywhere. Many of my blogs have been written whilst on public transport; buses to and from work, trains and the national express. I’ve written sat at the kitchen table, on the couch and even in bed. I’ve even managed to drown out the buzz of the office and get some sneaky short stories in when Ishould be working (shhh).

My inspiration so far has again been diverse. I like to use ideas taken from studying my family tree, I’ve used dreams before including a 4000 word alternative look at Noahs ark and ghosts (I have weird dreams!). Those are my biggest inspirations so far but I’m looking forward to seeing if I can develop more once I get into the course exercises. Maybe I’ll be brave and post some of the things I write. We’ll see 🙂

Leave a Reply

