2015 and positive goal setting

So fair to say this year has seen numerous challenges for me, a close friend and my son. It’s getting better and hopefully soon we will all be bidding farewell to the year on a more positive note. Yesterday me and my friend got a notebook and tried to set some goals for 2015 and what we could do.

For both of us that means study and looking at changing careers further down the line. I wanted to continue Open University as much as possible but also look at Life Coaching or Spiritual Counselling. I flip between the two so I need to settle on something and make a commitment next year.

I want to do more exercise. We talked about various dance classes but I’d like to lose some weight first. I’ve researched a few other classes but as money is tight I may just buy a few exercise DVDs and do something from the comfort of my own home. The key I think is to do something no matter what that may be. Even changing ideas week to week is fine as long as something gets done. We want to do some kind of 10k run. Or possibly if I don’t get enough exercise done it may be a 10k walk for me! As long as I take part and finish one though, that’s my main goal.

There are small goals as part of a much bigger one. I need to finally get to grips with my money issues and start fixing it. I can’t pay all my debts off next year but I can start. Cutting up the credit cards is step 1. They’re maxed out so it’s not like it will make much difference to get rid of them. If I can achieve my other goal of selling my house then I can pay off my loan with the equity and take another step forward. These issues are linked to my mental health issues so I need to learn how to make myself feel better on black days without buying meaningless things for the short term burst of endorphins.

We made a huge list of nearby places we can go visit, possibly review but most of all just have fun checking out. It’s amazing the amount of things in our area if you look hard enough. As shown in an earlier blog reviewing 2014 we got to attend a few good things completely free so that’s something else to continue.

I thought about making 2015 the year of the kindle as I have around 970 books unread on mine. I’ll never get them all read even over 2 years but it would be fun to see it the number goes down. I don’t help myself though. I bought 2 more paperbacks today alone! The to-read paper books pile is huge too.

I want to volunteer but I want to do that with fun events. I spend my days working with the vulnerable and I donate direct to these places when I can. I want to volunteer for events like being a zombie for Halloween and other fun stuff. Yesterday I came to the conclusion I’ve forgotten how to be silly. For a long time I let society judge how I should look and behave and I want to leave that behind. So I want to take part in fun events, dress up and not care what people think of me. I’ve a few ideas so watch this space!

And then I’ll be back in London for Hamlet. My first girls trip away in about 5 or 6 years and I can’t wait. So I need to plan for that too. And somewhere in the middle of all that I want to do some craft fairs, finish the book I’m writing, learn to meditate, learn reiki and so much more! And that’s just the things off the top of our heads. With all that going on how can 2015 fail to be dull??

Have you set any goals yet? Do you do resolutions? I’m interested to know

6 thoughts on “2015 and positive goal setting

Leave a Reply

