Poetry hour

Seeing as the poem I put up last week went down quite well I thought I’d be brave and give you a couple more. I will, over the next few weeks also put up some of the short bits of writing I’ve done over my course so far – mostly 200-300 words and not all complete short stories but maybe sharing them will inspire them to become something bigger.
The first poem was inspired by some graffiti in a book I was reading and is just a bit of nonsense. The second was inspired by watching local school kids at the bus stop. The school uniform is black and as many of these students at the school are Asian their headwear also had to be black (no pretty colours for individualism at this school!). It was so lovely to see someone trying to express their individuality as best they could.

2015-01-30 15.01.56

Exams Smell

Terror, tremors
The fear and sweat
In the school gym
Exam conditions met

Tick tock goes the clock
Nervous shuffling of feet
Are my pencils sharp?
Tap tap goes their beat

I’m so scared
What if I fail?
What if I can’t answer the question?
Did I revise enough?

The clock chimes nine
It’s time to begin
Turn the paper
Help!

The girl in the red Converse

Bus Stop
To high school
A sea of black, conformity
Then…a pair of red shoes
Uniform. Uniform!
Everyone’s the same
Interchangeable.
She tries to break the mould

Stand out!
Wear the shoes.
Embrace your individuality.
Dare to be…

Leave a Reply

