Son, You’ll Be a Dentist… #shortstory

I wrote this for one of my creative writing exercises. Maybe I should do a little something more with him???  I can never read the title without singing   🙂

Son, You’ll Be a Dentist…

People are often surprised when they meet me. I’m 6 foot 2, broad shouldered, long black hair that reaches my waistband and I’m always belting out the latest rock tune. Then I tell them I’m a dentist…

Suction please nurse…I’ve been practising dentistry for the last 10 years and been a frustrated rock star for another decade on top of that. It’s all the fault of Little Shop of Horrors. I was already fascinated by mouths and the way they work, the shape of my teeth; comparing my wonky overbite to my fathers crooked, nicotine stained gnashers. At the age of 10 it was decided I would have a brace – a huge metal monstrosity that left me a laughing stock for a long time at school. But I could block that out easily as I slowly watched my jaw line move and the crooked molars falling into even place like a row of soldiers on parade. I made notes every day, measuring the differences no matter how minute until finally the big reveal and I could stare at my perfect teeth with awe. I decided that day I wanted to do the same for others, help them achieve that perfect smile and so set to work on my studies to enable me to do that.

But as I grew older I also discovered the lure of rock and roll and the glamour that came with it. I saw my first concert – Iron Maiden. The long hair, denim jackets, screaming voice, 30 foot statue of their mascot Eddie. I wanted to be a rock star. How could I do both?? Then I saw the film. Steve Martin on his motor bike, hair gelled back in the perfect quiff singing away while torturing his clients with a range of the latest tools. Hmm maybe I wouldn’t go that far! I admit at college I may have joined the others in a sneaky game of dare – inhaling the gas & air used for pain relief but rather than indulge in the sadism of the film’s character I still had my vision of a world of perfect smiles. My dreams of striding the stage of Wembley arena though have since faded. Instead these days I am content to sing to my wide eyed patients while I set about giving them a reason to smile and smile and smile.

Leave a Reply

