Visualising Part 2 – Working Life

One thing I’ve struggled with whilst trying to visualise my future career is WHERE it ought to be. I currently live in a highly populated city. I’ve lived here most of my life apart from a 3 year trip around the UK when I was a teenager. Recently I’ve been trying to decide if that’s where I want to spend the second half of my life.
I’m quite spiritual (rather than religious). I like calm, relaxing atmospheres. I tend to find the city a bit too overwhelming and that doesn’t seem to be changing as I get older. A couple of years ago I went to Glastonbury (town not the festival) and the atmosphere and energy there is amazing. It’s so peaceful and I have given some thought about the possibility of living there.
I’ve also over the last 2 weeks spent time in North Yorkshire (I’m a West Yorkshire girl) in and around the Yorkshire Moors. Again a beautiful place filled with lovely energies. This is appealing to me as somewhere to live.
Now we hit the snag. I live with my son who, while 23 and an adult is also mildly autistic and struggles with change. I’ve been in my current house for the majority of his life. He is aware of the possibility of a house move in the near future and is trying to prepare himself. He has a small part time job that he absolutely loves, with a manager who he respects and gets on well with and after 2 years of struggling with a breakdown I’m loathe to do anything that may jeopardise this.
There is a possibility – his work has offices here in Leeds and in London. While I wouldn’t want to live there I’ve thought about somewhere on the outskirts. I’m going to want to be working for myself so as long as the town has the right feel and is commutable to London that is a possibility. I could also look at the outskirts of my home town with a commutable distance to Leeds city centre
(There is also the idea of working to move into living on his own but I think this may be more of a long term thing than the next five years I’m working on). I’ve yet more research to do (good job I like it J ) – Amesbury is nearby to London and I am drawn to it so there’s another possibility.
One day I’ll have some dreams that are a lot more easier to plan for. But then again if dreams were easy we wouldn’t have anything to strive for would we?
Leave a Reply

