Life without TV

I’ve had various satellite TV packages for the last 25 years. TV, films, sports and son on. I daren’t even add up how much I have spent financially on this never mind the hours given up to sit in front of the goggle-box.
A few months ago I got it into my head to re-watch all my Supernatural box sets. That’s 10 series I personally have each with 22 episodes. A lot of DVDs! I watched  maybe 2 a day and a couple more each weekend and as you can imagine it took a few months to work my way through them. While I did that I had left my Sky+ to tape all my programmes. Emerging from my DVD cocoon I found I’d used up around 55% of the Sky+ box on taped programmes. As some programmes use up maybe 0.4% per hour that was maybe 100 hours and more of TV to follow up on.
The funny thing was I didn’t miss hardly any of these programmes.
Looking at it all I deleted 15% straight away. Over the last 2 months I watched maybe a handful of what was left, every so often deleting entire series because it just seemed like too much hard work. What I found was that I didn’t want to watch anything, I had no more binge watching of DVDs to occupy that time instead. I wanted to DO things – read, write, study (and I rarely say that), go outside and get some fresh air. I don’t even think I was a TV addict in the first place – but I do think I and many others watch it because it’s there. Because we are spending £30-50 and more each month so we need to get our monies worth.
I’ve realised this year that I don’t need to have it. I don’t need or want to have it. I can’t justify the cost. And I don’t feel like I’m missing out if I can’t join in the water cooler conversation of what was on last night. So this week the contract is going. I’m not totally giving up TV – I have one or two must see programmes that I  can’t bare to live without. But I can get these online through Netflix, Now TV, some other alternatives at a mere fraction of the cost. I can get double what I have now for £6 a month. And right now I’m paying £33. That £324 per year saving is a weeks holiday (for me anyway)
It’s amazing what we think we can’t live without but when we stop and think about it we probably can
Leave a Reply

