Diet blog week 2

Weight lost this week  – 0lbs

Weight loss total – 4lbs

It’s been a funny old week. I left the weigh in class last Wednesday (12th July) thinking I was going to have a quiet week but ended up with 3 unplanned meals out to restaurants and spending the weekend with a close friend i haven’t seen in months. Not the greatest thing when on the second week of a life changing plan.

The end result was to stay the same weight which is acceptable for me. I went out, had a good time and at the end of the week I was in a good mental place. But I ended up having a bit of a heated discussion at work with a guy who is also on a diet. Whilst many people said well done for at least sticking he got quite cross and told me I was setting myself up for failing by accepting a no loss week. Ignoring the mental heath side, ignoring that life happens. In his world I’m going to fail.

I found this really annoying and not helpful. Yes there are lessons to learn from the week but surely learning those lessons sets you up to deal with difficult weeks?

The biggest lesson I have this week is that when faced with an unplanned night out and your friends have picked somewhere with one of those menus that have a choice of 2 or 3 courses for a set price is to not pick the main and pudding but the starter and main….or better yet choose from the other menu and skip starters and desserts altogether. That’s what I should have done and that’s what I’ll do next time. So not setting myself up for failure but moving forward.

I’ve always been an emotional eater. I’ve always over-eaten so this journey will not be won over night. I’m here for the long haul. I’m sticking to my mantra of ‘I don’t need to be fat anymore’ and I will learn as I go along.

So I’ll take my no loss week, learn from it and next time my social life goes a bit crazy I’ll know how to deal with it.

Enjoy your week x

Leave a Reply

