(Sweet Soul) Music

The big music news this week is the sad news of the death of Linkin Park frontman Chester Bennington. I’m not here to get into the rights and wrongs of suicide but all I will say is that if you suffer from depression, if you need someone to talk to please ask for help. If you don’t feel you can do that with friends or family there are many charities out there such as the Samaritans that can offer advice and a listening ear. Seek out your nearest one.

I’ve had an ongoing battle with depression for over 25 years and for me music is a saviour. I love my rock music and metal. There’s something in the guitars that I just love. I always smile the second the opening bars of ‘Back in Black’ strike up. It’s impossible to be miserable with certain songs. But it’s not just metal music. If I’m down I love some Frank Sinatra and Big Band or 80s pop. It doesn’t matter your taste in music, if it makes your heart soar then that’s just play it loud and dance.

Dancing is something else on my mind this week. I saw a short piece that said some people dance as a form of meditation. I find that to be brilliant and have spent the weekend bopping around to see how it works. It is a different feeling to meditation. It just raises the endorphins no end.

It depends on the type of music as to how much energy you expel when dancing. I’ve had an 80s high energy weekend so lots of moving around. It’s fun. What’s the saying – Dance like no one is watching. That’s been me 🙂

So much fun. And again a quick easy way to lift a mood. These are some of my coping mechanisms when my mood is on a down swing. I’ve enough practice after more than 2 decades of knowing when there’s a downswing on the way and out come the tunes.

We’ve all got coping mechanisms, it may be that you don’t know what yours is yet. The key is to find the ones that work for you but as mentioned at the beginning if you need more help, if these things stop working please go seek help.

In the words of Strictly Come Dancing for this week….Keep Dancing xxx

 

Leave a Reply

