adventure · challenges · Days out · dreams · goals · health · Life Coaching · love · Mental Health · positivity · review · spirituality

Gong Sound Baths: a spiritual review

Last year I decided that seeing as I was no longer in debt I would get my life back and start doing all the things I’d wanted to do while I was struggling. Then we went into a global lockdown and it’s only now that I feel I can start to do some of those things. All within reason and whether it’s something that feels safe.

This week I tried a Gong Sound Bath at a local yoga centre. Gong baths are a type of inactive meditation, where you “bathe” in the healing vibrations of sound. I’ve seen individual gongs and Tibetan bowls and chimes being played but not all at once. The invite said they would supply all equipment unless you wanted an eye patch to cover your eyes and you had to bring that (or a scarf). So… that’s all I took with me. I was given a mat but they said nothing on reception about blankets or pillows and I couldn’t see any so I went in without. My jumper and coat would have to do as an alternative and after a fashion they did but note to self next time pack a bag.

All the lights were off to get you in the relaxing mood. One thing I noticed, apart from the guy leading the session, the room was all women. Do men not feel the need for a musical relaxation?? Genuine question. I expected to see at least one or two. Some of the women were chatting quietly, some were already under blankets and looking fast asleep. Even with a yoga mat we were still laid on a concrete floor. I’m not sure how they managed to look so comfortable!

We started off with a small introduction. Ours was a relaxation sound bath but there are some other types. We’re instructed to lie down and make ourselves comfortable and the music will start. Firstly I’m no good at lying on my back. I’m a bigger girl with a bigger chest and it’s not a comfortable way. I always end up with an ache in my lower back. I tried the jumper under the base of my spine but it made it worse. Some trial and error and the jumper raising my shoulders helped. More notes to self… take 2 pillows next time

One thing the instructor mentioned was to clear your mind as the music starts. I have done many a meditation, attended stillness events and I’m fine but I struggled with the start of this. Maybe because when I need to think and I’ve an issue I put music on. Eventually though back in a good position, mind cleared and I could enjoy the music. I really loved the music. It was so calm and peaceful and because of the acoustics in the room it echoed everywhere. It was like an eastern orchestra. I really did feel peaceful afterwards and cleansed of one week ready for the next.

I will definitely take some of my own pillows next time. The session lasted 45 minutes but went by really fast so it doesn’t feel that long at all. For my yoga centre they do these monthly which is good if you are money conscious like me as it’s £15 a go but for once a month I’m happy to pay it.

Plus afterwards I got to have a pizza with a couple of people I met at the centre and start to form some new friendships as they will be going regularly too. I would highly recommend it. .

Leave a comment